About University

BHMS CCH Cerificate
The University is privileged to have the blessings and good wishes of many important and distinguished Indians. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan delivered its first Convocation address on 1.3.1958 and blessed students and the institution. Similarly Dr. C.D. Deshmukh delivered the Convocation address on 16.11.1960, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri on 10.12.1961 and Dr. C.P. Ramaswami Aiyar on 15.2.1963. Prof. R. Chidambaram, the well known atomic scientist was the Chief Guest at its convocation held on 28.2.2002, while Dr. J.S. Verma, farmer Chief Justice of India delivered the address in convocation on 7th March, 2005.

Dr. Kunji Lal Dubey, who subsequently became the Speaker, Vidhan Sabha of M.P., was the founder Vice-Chancellor of the University. Subsequently, distinguished academicians like Dr. Dhirendra Verma, Dr. Raj Bali Pandey and Dr. H.P. Dikshit adorned the post. Prof. H.P. Dikshit later became the Vice-Chancellor of Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi. Then, a good number of renowned academicians also taught in this University. Prof. T. Pati who later on became the Vice-Chancellor of Allahabad University, taught Mathematics with distinction. Prof. S.C. Datt (Physics), Dr.C.D. Sharma (Philosophy), Prof. Baijnath Sharma (History), Prof. Hiralal Jain (Sanskrit) and Prof. S. Swaminathan (English) were also teachers in this University. Dr. Baijnath Sharma became the Vice-Chancellor of Bhopal University. Prof. Mahesh Datt Mishra, the living legend of Gandhian thoughts was a Professor teaching Political Science in the University. He now heads the Gandhi Srijan Peeth of the University.

The University has produced a large number of internationally acclaimed academicians and scientists, a number of distinctions and awards have been given to its teachers and students and many international fellowships have been bagged by the Faculty members. In the past 5 years, more than 300 research scholars have earned Ph.D. as well as D.Sc. and D. Litt. degrees. Various research Projects in different disciplines, with an outlay of around Rs. 5 Crores have been completed during this period. Currently several research projects are in progress. The University is thus playing a key role in higher education in Central India.

Rani Durgawati Vishwavidyalya, Jabalpur
Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur M.P. India
B.Sc. (1970), M.Sc. (1972) and Ph.D. (1977) all from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.
Post Doctoral Fellow (1986-88) from Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.
Vice-Chancellor, Jan. 6, 2012 – till date
Vice-Chancellor, UPRTOU, Allahabad, 2005-08
Head, Department of Statistics, Banaras Hindu University (1998- 2001)
Coordinator, Science Faculty Hostels, Banaras Hindu University (2001-05)
  • Books : 08
  • Books Chapters : 12
  • Published Papers:
  • National : 54
  • International : 63
Major Projects : 08 (sponsored by The Rockefeller Foundation, USA; UGC, ICSSR, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, New Delhi)
  • The Rockefellor Foundation Fellowship Award in Pop ulation Sciences, USA,1986-88
  • Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD) Award of USA, 1994
  • Fellow of INSA-JSPS Bilateral Scientific Exchange Programme between India and Japan), 2000-01; 2011-12.
  • Prayag Samman Award by SUCO for significant contri bution in Higher Education, 2006.
  • U.P. Ratan Award, 2006.
  • Lifetime achievement Award in the area of Higher E ducation by the International Association of Educators for World Pe ace, 2007
  • Member of State Council for Higher Education (UP), Lucknow, 2006-07
  • Member and/or Chairman in various visiting committee's of the UGC related to SAP, CAS, XI Plan, etc.
  • Member of Board of Studies, Academic Council, Executive Co uncil and Selection Committee's of several Universities/Insti tutions
  • Australia (1986-88, 1995, 1996); USA (1994, 1997, 2000).
  • UK (1991, 1994); Germany (1992); Luxemburg (1991).
  • Singapore (1987, 1993, 1998); Thailand (1993); Nep al (1996).
  • Bangladesh (1997, 2003); Japan ( 2000, 2011); Indo nesia ( 2005).
  • China (2006); Malaysia (2007), Austria (2011).
  • Slovakia Rep. (2011).

Developed & Designed by Internetshoot